This is the "Home" page of the "Unsolved Mysteries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Unsolved Mysteries  

Last Updated: Aug 28, 2013 URL: http://libguides.naperville203.org/unsolved_mysteries Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

JJHS Databases

Here are links to Jefferson's subscription databases that are most likely to help you with your assignment.  Be sure to look for citation help within the resource when you find information that you'll use in your research.

  • AP Images
    Photographic images from the Associated Press archives. Download and use for presentations and educational documents.
  • Biography Reference Center
    9000+ biographies of notable people, including artists, athletes, inventors, musicians, presidents, scientists, world leaders.
  • Ebsco Research Databases
    Database of newspaper, magazine and journal articles on all topics as well as television and radio news transcripts.
  • Lincoln Library FactCite
    Online version of six encyclopedias from Lincoln Library Press: Greek & Roman Mythology, Sports Champions, Shapers of Society, American History, Biographies, Essential Information, and the American Civil War.
  • NetTrekker
    Educator-selected online resources, including audio, video, interactive media, and primary source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, terrorism.
  • SIRS Decades
    Features 5,000+ hand-selected primary and secondary source articles that highlight key events, movements, people, and places in 20th-century America.
  • Student Research Center
    User-friendly interface searchs newspaper, magazine, journal and primary source databses, including MAS Ultra. Includes Lexile reading levels for some articles.
  • World Book Online
    Student-friendly encyclopedia for general reference research.

Public Libraries

Naperville Public Library      Lisle Library

      

    Suggested Websites

    Below are the links that your teachers have found for you to help you save time on that "Locate and Access" step of the Big 6. 

     Loch Ness Monster Links:

     
    Roswell, NM Links:
     
    Links to newspaper articles written at the time: http://www.crystalinks.com/roswell.html
     
    Big Foot Links:
     
    Amelia Earhart Links:
     
    Bermuda Triangle Links:
        

      JJHS Online Catalog

      See what books we have on your topic in our school's collection by searching the list created for you in Alexandria. Choose "Assignment Lists" from the Explore section of the Researcher homepage and look for your assignment.  Or, simply enter your topic in the search box; be sure to sort by call number to put the nonfiction books on top.

       

      Resources Handouts

      This is the assignment you received from Ms Palubicki or Mr. Heffernan.  Access it electronically if you need to refresh your memory about what to do, what to use, and how to use it.

      Research Tools

      Here are some tools to help you with your Works Cited.  Be sure to ask for help if you're unsure of how to categorize what you're citing or where to find the information you need.

      • EasyBib
        Online citation generator. You can create your own login in order to be able to access citation projects from different computers.
      • A+ Manual from NNHS
        This is North's manual for research papers that you'll be expected to follow in high school. Check here for further clarification of how to cite your sources.
       

      big 6 wide box

       

      Featured Books

      Here are just some of the books we have on these topics in the LRC, so be sure to visit the catalog from the center box on this page and check for your topicThe links for these books only work in school.  If you're at home and you want to find out more about a title, use the "From Home" catalog link above and search for the book that way.

      Cover Art
      Loch Ness Monster - Harriette S. Abels
      Call Number: 001.9 ABE
      ISBN: 0896863433
      Publication Date: 1987-01-01

      Cover Art
      Monsters - Judith Herbst
      Call Number: 001.944 HER
      ISBN: 9780822516262
      Publication Date: 2004-10-01

      Cover Art
      UFOs - Judith Herbst
      Call Number: 001.942 HER
      ISBN: 9780822509615
      Publication Date: 2004-10-01

      Cover Art
      Bermuda Triangle - Sue Hamilton
      Call Number: 001.94 HAM
      ISBN: 9781599288345
      Publication Date: 2007-09-01

      Cover Art
      Vanished - Judith Herbst
      Call Number: 001.94 HER
      ISBN: 9780822516316
      Publication Date: 2005-01-01

      Cover Art
      Amelia Lost - Candace Fleming
      Call Number: 92 EAR
      ISBN: 9780375841989
      Publication Date: 2011-02-08

      Cover Art
      Lost Star - Patricia Lauber
      Call Number: 92 EAR
      ISBN: 0590411594
      Publication Date: 1990-01-01

      Cover Art
      The Bermuda Triangle - Christine Zuchora-Walske
      Call Number: 001.94 ZUC
      ISBN: 9781617832987
      Publication Date: 2012-01-01

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip