A poetry LibGuide for Mr. Hayward's class.
Last Updated: Apr 8, 2014
- Poetry 180
Poetry 180 provides a poem a day for high school students. The site is sponsored by the Library of Congress and Billy Collins, former Poet Laureate of the United States.
- Poetry Foundation
Poems, poets and more from the Poetry Foundation.
This resource is published by the American Academy of Poets. Find poems, poets and more information on this site.
- Favorite Poem Project
"The Favorite Poem Project is dedicated to celebrating, documenting and encouraging poetry’s role in Americans’ lives. Robert Pinsky, the 39th Poet Laureate of the United States, founded the Favorite Poem Project shortly after the Library of Congress appointed him to the post in 1997."
Cosponsored by Boston University and the Library of Congress.
- Poetic Schools and Movements
Links to poets and poems by type of poem, from poets.org.
Enter your search term and then click on the power button icon.
When accessing the database, you will need to enter a user name and password. Brochures with this information are located in the LRC. The information is also on page 158 of the student handbook (use the school username even when accessing from home).
When accessing the databases, you will need to enter a user name and password. Brochures with this information are located in the LRC. The information is also on page 229 of the student handbook (use the school username even when accessing from home).
- Literary Reference Center
Includes information on thousands of authors, their works across literary disciplines and timeframes, biographies, literary criticism, poems, stories and literary reference materials.
- Literary Criticism Links
The ipl2 Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.
- ProQuest Literature
A comprehensive resource including 3,000+ author biographies; 40 searchable full-text literature journals; full-text literary works; and other key criticism and reference sources.
Find local poets, poems, events, literary journals, writing programs, poetry organizations, and more.
Celebrate National Poetry Month!