This is the "Application of Nuclear Chemistry" page of the "NNHS Application of Nuclear Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NNHS Application of Nuclear Chemistry  

Last Updated: Jul 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.naperville203.org/nnhs/science/nuclearchemistry Print Guide RSS Updates
Application of Nuclear Chemistry Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Science in Context

Enter your search term and then click on the search icon.

When accessing the database from home, you will need to enter a user name and password.  This user name/password list is located at the Circulation desk in the NNHS Learning Commons or in the student handbook.

Other Databases For This Project

Use these links for additional database information.

eLibrary

Opposing Viewpoints

Student Research Center

NetTrekker

 

 

Group 1: Radiation Therapy for Cancer

Source: Science in Context

See the National Cancer Institute to answer the following questions:

1. What is radiation therapy?

2. How does Radiation Therapy kill cancer cells?

3. Does Radiation Therapy kill only cancer cells?

4. Why do patients receive radiation therapy?

5. How is radiation therapy given to patients?

 

Group 3: Nuclear Power Plants

 

Source: howstuffworks.com

You can find the answers to the following questions with the following search in the noted databases above:

Search    nuclear power plant     in SIC, GVRL, and NetTrekker.  See links above.

or Introduction to How Nuclear Power Works 

1. Describe how a nuclear plant works.

2. How dependent is the US on nuclear power plants compared to other countries?

3. Where are nuclear power plants in Illinois?

 

 

Group 5: Radioactive Tracers - Iodine-131

Source: atonkstail.com

Search SIC and GVRL above for  Iodine 131     or     radioactive tracers.

Student Research Center  search  Iodine 131

Opposing Viewpoints  Iodine 131    or    radioactive tracers

1. What is radioiodine-131 and how is it used?

2. How is the procedure formed?

3. Is there any special preparation needed for this procedure?

4. Are there permanent side effects?

 

 

Group 7: Chernobyl

 

Source: Britannica.com

 

To answer the following questions, use SIC, Opposing Viewponts, Student Research Center and NetTrekker.  Links can be found above.  Use the search terms Chernobyl disaster.  In Student Research Center search Chernobyl accident, then narrow the results by doing a subject search on the left hand side.  You may also find the following link helpful.

World Nuclear Association - Chernobyl Accident 1986

1. When did this happen?

2. Provide a summary of what happened.

3. How did it affect that country and the people of the time?

4. How has it changed our current view of nuclear power?

 

Group 9: Three Mile Island

Source: nuclearhealth.org

Use the databases found above to answer the following questions:

SIC, Opposing Viewpoints or eLibrary - Search Three Mile Island or Three Mile Island accident

GVRL - Search Three Mile Island accident

Net Trekker - Search Three Mile Island

Student Research Center - Search Three Mile Island - then narrow the results by doing a subject search on the left hand side.

1. When did this happen?

2. Provide a summary of what happened.

3. How did it affect that country and the people of the time?

4. How has it changed our current view of nuclear power?

 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Enter your search term and then click on the power button icon.

When accessing the database from home, you will need to enter a user name and password.  This user name/password list is located at the Circulation desk in the NNHS Learning Commons or in the student handbook. 

 

Group 0: Origin of Elements

Source: Gale Encyclopedia of Science

Astronomy and Life Cycle of a Star - Use the two search boxes above to answer the following questions - Science in Context (SIC) or Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL).

1. Explain Fission and Fusion - Thermonuclear reactions

2. Where do the elements originate from?   Stellar populations

3. Why is iron important? Iron

4. Why is the amount of gold on earth an interesting topic of discussion in the scientific community? Precious metals

 

Group 2: Food Irradiation

Irradiated food symbol - Source: gaia-health.com

Find the answers to the following questions at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

1. What is food irradiation?

2. Which food borne diseases could be prevented with irradiation?

3. Describe the process of food irradiation that involves a nuclear reaction.

4. How does irradiation affect food?

5. Which foods can be irradiated?

6. How safe is irradiated food for the consumer?

7. Are all types of food suitable for irradiation?

 

Group 4: Nuclear Waste

Source: Science in Context

For answers to these questions, search SIC, and GVRL above, NetTrekker and Opposing Viewpoints.  See access to links above.  Use the search terms   nuclear waste   or nuclear waste disposal in each one.

1. What is nuclear waste?

2. What are methods nuclear waste can be disposed?  Include pros and cons of each method (Opposing Viewpoints).

3. Where is Yucca Mountain and what role does it play in nuclear waste disposal? See SIC.

 

Group 6: Japan Nuclear Disaster (Fukushima)

Source: suffolk.edu

Use the following to answer the questions below.

SIC above - search Fukushima or Fukushima disaster

Opposing Viewpoints (access above) - search Fukusima or Fukusima disaster

Student Research Center (access above) - search Fukushima disaster - then narrwo the results by doing a subject search on the left hand side

NetTrekker (access above) - Fukushima crisis

Fear Goes Nuclear by Jeffrey Kluger (Time)

1. Summary of what occurred.

2. How has the disaster in Japan affected the world's view on nuclear power? Focus on the Obama administration.

 

Group 8: Bikini Island (aka Marshall Islands)

 

Source: history.navy.mil

To answer the following questions, use the links at the top of the page to perform the following searches:

Databases to use for this bank of questions:

SIC, Opposing Viewpoints, NetTrekker, and GVRL - links found above.  Search   Bikini Atoll in all databases.

1. When did this happen?

2. Provide a summary of what happened.

3. How did it affect that country and the people of the time?

4. How has it changed our current view of nuclear power?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip