This is the "American Studies : Columbine" page of the "NNHS American Studies : Columbine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NNHS American Studies : Columbine  

Last Updated: Sep 21, 2016 URL: http://libguides.naperville203.org/nnhs/CommArts/AmericanStudiesColumbine Print Guide RSS Updates
American Studies : Columbine Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Your Task

Research an area of interest that lies at the heart of the tragedy of Columbine High School.

Four topics/four possible contentions:

  • Gun Control - Strict gun control laws enacted throughout the United States would stand a good chance of preventing future such tragedies.
  • Violence in Society - Increasing tolerance for violence in the form of television, film, video games and sports leads American youth to a greater tolerance of and propensity to commit volent acts.
  • Media Reporting - American media is too often a detriment to the American public understanding of current event issues due to its often-careless reporting designed to generate viewership more than to inform.
  • Mental Health - The lack of attention to mental health-based issues and treatment in the United States makes it more likely that tragedies like those at Columbine will continue to occur going into the future.
 

MAS Ultra Search Box

Full text articles in magazines, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, photos and maps.

When accessing the database from home, you will need to enter a user name and password.  This user name/password list is located at the Circulation desk in the NNHS Learning Commons or in the student handbook.

MAS Ultra Research Database
Limit Your Results
 

elibrary

When accessing the database from home, you will need to enter a user name and password.  This user name/password list is located at the Circulation desk in the NNHS Learning Commons or in the student handbook.


 

Opposing Viewpoints

When accessing the database from home, you will need to enter a user name and password.  This user name/password list is located at the Circulation desk in the NNHS Learning Commons or in the student handbook.

Helpful Search Hints

Things to know when searching:

  • Switch up your search terms each time
  • Spell correctly
  • Try a Boolean search (AND) to include all important information (example:  health AND school AND food)
  • Use quotes to include a phrase that you are searching for (example: "school lunches" AND "healthy food")
  • For multiple forms of a word, use the root and replace the rest with a *  (example: instead of typing teenager, type teen* and it will find teens, teenager, etc.)

Reliable Sources:

  • Scholarly or Peer reviewed journals
  • Primary sources can be more reliable than secondary or tertiary
  • Up-to-date
  • Find background information on the author (Google).  Is this person well-regarded?
  • Focus on sources that feature cold, hard facts.  Numerical statistics, percentages, averages,etc.  Hard evidence provided as support.
  • Focus also on sources that feature personal stories, names and faces.

Once you find a source:

  • Review the abstract (summary of the document) if one is provided to discern whether or not the article might be useful.
  • Scan the article for information.  Will parts of the article or the whole article useful to educate you on the topic?
  • If you know you will use the article or it may be helpful, email the article to yourself from the feature in the tool bar.  Be sure to include the MLA7 citation information and indicate that when prompted.
  • Review the bibliography or reference information at the end of the article to see if there is other information that may be used for this project.
 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Enter your search term and then click on the power button icon.

When accessing the database from home, you will need to enter a user name and password.  This user name/password list is located at the Circulation desk in the NNHS Learning Commons or in the student handbook. 

Hints for Using Opposing Viewpoints

Optimum searching in Opposing Viewpoints:

Visit the Browse Issues area first to preview the speciality topics that have already been generated.

See:

  • Gun Control, Guns and Violence
  • Media Violence
  • Mass Media
  • Mental Health
      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip