This is the "Home" page of the "Disasters" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Disasters  

Last Updated: Apr 4, 2016 URL: http://libguides.naperville203.org/disasters Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Disasters Databases

  • AP Images
    Photographic images from the Associated Press archives. Download and use for presentations and educational documents.
  • EBSCOhost
    Great place for newspaper, magazine and journal articles on all topics as well as television and radio news transcripts. Choose Middle Search Plus from the list of databases.
  • Explora
    User-friendly interface searchs newspaper, magazine, journal and primary source databses, including MAS Ultra. Includes Lexile reading levels for some articles.
  • Science Online
    Avalanches, earthquakes, tsunamis, volcanoes -- if your topic has anything to do with earth science, then try this resource! User name and password are in your assignment notebook.
  • World Book Online
    Student-friendly encyclopedia for general reference research.
  • Lincoln Library FactCite
    Online version of six encyclopedias from Lincoln Library Press: Greek & Roman Mythology, Sports Champions, Shapers of Society, American History, Biographies, Essential Information, and the American Civil War.
 

Using This LibGuide

This is your homepage for your research on Disasters.  On the left you'll see links to all the databases we discussed in class that should contain information on your topic. Remember, usernames and passwords are listed on p. 154 of your assignment notebook. 

In the box below, you'll see links to the online catalog where you can look for books we have on your topic. From the Researcher homepage, you can either search for your topic or go to Assignment Links and find the Disasters list to access all the books that have been put on the reserve cart.  That's why most of the books that look good will say OUT.  Don't worry -- they're OUT for you!

Along the top of this page, you'll see tabs.  That's where you'll get access to the links your librarians and teachers have found for you to speed up Step 3 of the research process.  Your topics are sorted by category:  Fires, Volcanoes, Floods, Nuclear, At Sea.  For example, you'll find both the Titanic and the Lusitania under the At Sea tab. Be sure to look through all those links before searching the web on your own.

GOOD LUCK AND HAPPY RESEARCHING!

JJHS Online Catalog

See what books we have on your topic in our school's collection by searching the list created for you in Atriuum. Click on theVisual tab and look for the Class Assignments icon which will lead you to the Disasters list.  Or, simply enter your topic in the search box; be sure to sort by call number to put the nonfiction books on top.

Public Library Links

Your public library has LOTS of great resources for you, so be sure to take advantage of them!

 

Back to the Jefferson Webpage

Click the icon to get back to the Jefferson Website.

Research Tools

Here are some tools to help you with your Works Cited.  Be sure to ask for help if you're unsure of how to categorize what you're citing or where to find the information you need.

  • EasyBib
    Online citation generator. You can create your own login in order to be able to access citation projects from different computers.
  • A+ Manual from NNHS
    This is North's manual for research papers that you'll be expected to follow in high school. Check here for further clarification of how to cite your sources.
  • CRLS Big 6 Guide
    This site from the Cambridge Rindge and Latin School in Cambridge, MA, does a great job of explaining all the steps of the Big6 and how to follow them.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip