Geothermal DebateEarthquakesVolcanoes and Energy
Plate Tectonics, Continental Drift and ConvectionMountain Building, Isostasy and Isostatic ReboundEarthquakes and WavesVolcanoes and EnergyRivers
Global Warming and Climate ChangeThe Reason for our Seasons! Temperature and HeatAtmosphereEnergy in the AtmosphereWeather
This is the "Home" page of the "NCHS DES" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NCHS DES  

This guide supports Mrs. Bennett's DES classes.
Last Updated: Nov 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.naperville203.org/des Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Earth Science Picture of the Day

Lava tube

Thurston Lava Tube in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.  Photo by Rick Stankiewicz.

  • Picture of the Day
    Click on this link to explore amazing pictures of our Earth. Select a category to browse past pictures.

Science Web Sites

NASA image - dust storm over Africa

NASA image:  Dust storm over Africa

  • U.S. Geological Survey
    The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information.

  • Science Daily: Earth Science News
    News, articles, images and videos about Earth Science topics.
  • NASA: Earth Science Focus Areas
    Explore NASA's research on earth science topics such as weather, water and energy cycle, and earth's surface and interior.

NetTrekker

netTrekker

  • NetTrekker
    A search engine for educator-evaluated web sites.
 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access these encyclopedias and more online reference books through the Gale Virtual Reference Library. If accessing from home, you will need the password, which can be found on p. 223 of the 2012-13 Redbook, or on the Online Databases brochure available in the LRC. Within a book, enter a topic search term to find definitions and artilces about the topic.

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Science - K. Lee Lerner; Brenda Wilmoth Lerner
ISBN: 9781414428840
Publication Date: 2007-11-01


Cover Art
U-X-L Encyclopedia of Science - Rob Nagel (Editor)
ISBN: 0787654329
Publication Date: 2001-09-21

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Enter your search term and then click on the power button icon.

When accessing the database, you will need to enter a user name and password.  Brochures with this information are located in the LRC.  The information is also on page 223 of the student handbook (use the school username even when accessing from home).

 

Student Researcher Search Box

Student Research Center is a general periodical database, which includes articles from newspapers, magazines, journals and primary sources.

When accessing the database from home, you will need to enter a user name and password.  Brochures with this information are located in the LRC.  The information is also on page 158 of the student handbook (use the school username even when accessing from home).

Research databases
Limit Your Results
 

MAS Ultra Search Box

When accessing the database, you will need to enter a user name and password.  Brochures with this information are located in the LRC.  The information is also on page 158 of the student handbook (use the school username even when accessing from home).

MAS Ultra Research Database
Limit Your Results

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Cathy Gottlieb
Contact Info
440 W. Aurora Ave.
Naperville, IL 60540
Send Email

Government Sites

Sci.Gov banner

  • USA.Gov for Science
    Links to government Science sites for the following topics:
    Climate, Weather, and Meteorology
    Earthquakes, Floods, and Other Natural Disasters
    Geology and Land Forms
    Mapping and Cartography
    Oceans and Oceanography
    Snow, Ice, and Permafrost
    Soil
    Water and Hydrology
  • Federal Resources for Educational Excellence: Earth Sciences
    Teaching and learning resources from Federal Agencies.
  • Incorporated Research Corporations for Seismology
    Each series of animations below contains text, graphics, animations, and videos to help teach Earth Science fundamentals.

    ■Click links or scroll down to view the available animations.
    ■Check out our Earth Science Videos pages.
 

eLibrary

When accessing the database, you will need to enter a user name and password.  Brochures with this information are located in the LRC.  The information is also on page 229 of the student handbook (use the school username even when accessing from home).


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip