This is the "Home" page of the "Cultural Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cultural Studies  

A place to find out about our neighbors around the world
Last Updated: Nov 5, 2015 URL: http://libguides.naperville203.org/culturalstudies Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

JJHS Databases

Make these authoritative resouces your first stop for research!  User names and passwords are found in your assignment notebook on page 149.

  • AP Images
    Photographic images from the Associated Press archives. Download quality images and use for presentations.
  • Biography Reference Center
    9000+ biographies of notable people, including artists, athletes, inventors, musicians, presidents, scientists, world leaders.
  • Ebsco Host
    Database of newspaper, magazine and journal articles on all topics as well as television and radio news transcripts. You can select "Newspaper Source" from the list of databases if you just want to look for newspaper articles.
  • Explora (from Ebsco)
    This new EBSCO platform offers an easy-to-use visual search and pulls content from a variety of databases. Pay special attention to the Geography and Current Issues sections!
  • Opposing Viewpoints
    This database focusing on all types of social issues including a section on War and Diplomacy that has links to many different global topics.
  • World Book Online
    Student-friendly encyclopedia for general reference research. Your search results will not only yield encyclopedia articles but connect you to additional information from magazines, newspapers, and the internet. Images, video and maps are also included.
  • World News Digest
    Instant access by topic to the most current news alongside the indispensable context and perspective offered by our issue overviews and specially selected archival news articles (Trial through 12/3/15; same user/pw as Facts on File Databases).

JJHS Online Catalog

See what books we have on your topic in our school's collection by searching in Atriuum. Be sure to look on the List tab for Cultural Studies to access both fiction and nonfiction titles that deal with people and places around the world.

  • Atriuum
    Search Jefferson's OPAC (online public access catalog)

Newpapers Around the World

  • English Online International Newspapers
    Here are links to English-edition online newspapers from other parts of the world. Nearly all of these are English-edition daily newspapers, with an emphasis on the Middle East and Asia. These sites have interesting editorials and essays, and many have links to other good news sources
  • Paperboy
    Index to newspapers around the world
  • Today's Front Pages
    From Newseum, this is a link to the frontpages of newspapers around the world. You can sort by region to zero in on a particular area of interest. Most are in their native languages, but you can tell a lot from pictures!
  • World Newspapers
    This link is from one of our databases, GO (Grolier Online). From home, you will need the password that is found in your assignment notebook in order to access this resource.
  • Worldwide News in English
    This site is part of "The Big Project UK," a directory of "the World's most useful websites." You'll see breaking news headlines as well as links to European papers.

World Geography: Understanding a Changing World

FOF World Geography

From now until December 3rd, take advantage of our trial to this database that has current news articles, perspectives about global issues, and ways to compare different countries around the world.

World News Digest

Another trial through December 3rd, this resource connects you to articles that impact the global community.

  • FOF: World News Digest
    Use the same user/pw for our other Facts on File databases on pg. 149 of your assignment notebook.
 

CultureGrams

Click on a continent below to start your country search.

CultureGrams has up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries.  Find out about their background, people, customs, lifestyles, and society or use the Tools feature to compare statistics, convert currency, or figure out the distance to any faraway location.

You will need the school username and password to access this from home.  You can get this in your assignment notebook on page 149.

Europe Asia Oceania North America None Africa Africa None South America

Countries at a Glance

US Department of State

  • Background Notes
    U.S. Department of State: Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
  • CIA World Factbook
    The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
  • World Atlas and Map Library
    Maps, country profiles, statistics, distance calculators and quizzes.
  • Infoplease Atlas

Current Events

Use these news outlets to find out about what's going on in the world.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip