- American Memory - Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access to materials from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions which chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.
- AP Images
Photographic images from the Associated Press archives. Download and use for presentations and educational documents.
- Background Notes
Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
- Berklee Careers in Music
Berklee College of Music provides information about numerous careers in the music industry.
- Biographies e-Reference Books
Database of e-reference books on Biographies.
- Biography Reference Center
9000+ biographies of notable people, including artists, athletes, inventors, musicians, presidents, scientists, world leaders.
- Business e-Reference Books
Database of e-reference books on Business subjects.
- Career Cruising
Career Cruising is an interactive online career guidance and planning system to aid in choosing careers, exploring education and training options, and building a portfolio.
CareerShip provides career exploration of job descriptions, career outlook, wages, education and more.
- CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- Consumer Reports Online
Scientific tests and unbiased ratings for thousands of products and services.
Country information includes maps, statistics, and in-depth information on stats and countries.
An online dictionary and thesaurus.
- Ebsco Research Databases
Database of newspaper, magazine and journal articles on all topics as well as television and radio news transcripts.
Information about careers, schools, scholarships and student aid.
- Explora EBSCO Databases
Cross-search multiple EBSCO databases, including MAS Ultra, Literary Reference Center, Biography Reference Center, and Newspaper Source with one click. (Replaces Student Research Center.)
- FirstSearch High School Ace
Full text databases, including Medline, Wilson Select (periodicals), Articles1st, WorldCat and others.
- Gale Power Search
Search Opposing Viewpoints, Science in Context and the Gale Virtual Reference Library databases with one click.
Enter a search term, after search results returned, click on Topic Finder link at bottom of the box on the right to discover the context of your search term and uncover hidden connections.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Database of e-reference books on a variety of subjects, including Arts, Business, Education, History, Literature, Medicine, Religion, and Science.
- Google Maps
World-wide satellite, street and weather maps.
- History Study Center
Offers invaluable historical reference material that covers 14 centuries of history, from ancient to modern, old world to new.
- Infobase ebooks
Career and Internet Safety ebooks.
- Infoplease Atlas
World atlas and map library.
- Issues and Controversies in American History
Covers every major historical event in American History with in-depth exploration on the background, outcomes, and contemporary points of view. Includes primary source documents, timelines, photographs, statistical charts, explanatory diagrams, maps, and cartoons. A Facts on File database.
- Latin American Studies
Links to articles and information about Latin American countries.
- Life Magazine Photos 1750-Present
LIFE Magazine photo archives from 1750's to present day, hosted by Google.
- Literary Criticism Links
The ipl2 Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.
- Literary Reference Center
Includes information on thousands of authors, their works across literary disciplines and timeframes, biographies, literary criticism, poems, stories and literary reference materials.
Mapping Your Future is a free resource for career, college, financial aid, and money management information.
- Marshall Cavendish ebooks
Ebooks about drug abuse.
- MAS Ultra (EBSCO)
Full text articles in magazines, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, photos and maps. Includes Lexile reading levels.
- Medline Plus
Medline Plus provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in everyday language (Produced by the National Library of Medicine).
- Mirriam-Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus
Online dictionary and thesaurus.
Articles, advice and tools about careers, college and the military.
- National Career Services
Job profiles and online education opportunities.
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is the Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
- NCHS Library Catalog
Naperville Central High School's online catalog of library materials.
- Newseum: World Newspapers
Over 800 daily front pages of newspapers from nearly 90 countries.
Information to help find a career and plan for college.
- Novelist Plus
Author biographies, book discussions guides, award winners, recommended reads, featured articles, read-alikes and more.
O*NET provides career exploration tools, job analysis questionnaires, employer guides, and technical reports.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Bureau of Labor Statistics latest Occupational Outlook Handbook.
- Opposing Viewpoints
Social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, terrorism.
- Oxford Dictionaries
Oxford Dictionaries Online is a free site offering a comprehensive dictionary, grammar guidance, puzzles and games, and a language blog.
The pros and cons of 42 controversial issues.
- ProQuest eLibrary
Large general reference collection – Includes multimedia sources, magazines, newspapers, pictures, maps, 1,200,000 images and photos.
- ProQuest Literature
A comprehensive resource including 3,000+ author biographies; 40 searchable full-text literature journals; full-text literary works; and other key criticism and reference sources.
- Science e-Reference Books
Database of e-reference books on Science subjects.
- Science in Context
Journal articles, biographies, reference aticles, images and videos about science topics.
- Student Research Center
User-friendly interface searchs newspaper, magazine, journal and primary source databses, including MAS Ultra. Includes Lexile reading levels for some articles.
- Teen Health and Wellness
Written for teens and provides information on every type of health and wellness issue that impacts a teenage. Great resource for basic facts, wellness strategies, answers to questions.
- U.S. Department of State Background Notes
Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent countries, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
- Visual Thesaurus
An interactive dictionary and thesaurus which creates word maps in the form of webs. Meanings and related words are displayed and options include hearing the word pronounced and links to websites and images.
- World Book Online
Student-friendly encyclopedia for general reference research.
- World Book Online - Spanish Version
The Spanish Language version of World Book Online.
- EBSCO Explora Educator's Edition
Direct link to EBSCO's educator databases, including ERIC and the Professional Development Collection. A great source for lesson plans, curriculum connections, student tools and helpful teacher websites.