This is the "Home" page of the "Chicago Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chicago Research  

Resources for our 6th grade Chicago Research Project.
Last Updated: Oct 27, 2016 URL: http://libguides.naperville203.org/Chicagoresouces Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

A-Z Resources

  • American Memory - Library of Congress
    American Memory provides free and open access to materials from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions which chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.
  • AP Images
    Photographic images from the Associated Press archives. Download and use for presentations and educational documents.
  • Background Notes
    Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
  • Biography Reference Center
    9000+ biographies of notable people, including artists, athletes, inventors, musicians, presidents, scientists, world leaders.
  • Career Cruising
    Career Cruising is an interactive online career guidance and planning system to aid in choosing careers, exploring education and training options, and building a portfolio.
  • CIA World Factbook
    The CIA World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
  • Consumer Reports Online
    Scientific tests and unbiased ratings for thousands of products and services.
  • Culturegrams
    Country information includes maps, statistics, and in-depth information on stats and countries.
  • Dictionary.com
    An online dictionary and thesaurus.
  • Ebsco Research Databases
    Database of newspaper, magazine and journal articles on all topics as well as television and radio news transcripts.
  • Google Maps
    World-wide satellite, street and weather maps.
  • Mirriam-Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus
    Online dictionary and thesaurus.
  • NetTrekker
    Educator-selected online resources, including audio, video, interactive media, and primary source documents.
  • Novelist Plus
    Author biographies, book discussions guides, award winners, recommended reads, featured articles, read-alikes and more.
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    The Bureau of Labor Statistics latest Occupational Outlook Handbook.
  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Social issues such as gun control, genetic engineering, terrorism.
  • Student Research Center
    User-friendly interface searchs newspaper, magazine, journal and primary source databses, including MAS Ultra. Includes Lexile reading levels for some articles.
  • U.S. Department of State Background Notes
    Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent countries, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
  • Visual Thesaurus
    An interactive dictionary and thesaurus which creates word maps in the form of webs. Meanings and related words are displayed and options include hearing the word pronounced and links to websites and images.
  • World Book Online
    Student-friendly encyclopedia for general reference research.

Start here to begin your Chicago Research

Millineium Park

Chicago Nicknames

Chicago has many nicknames.  Do you wonder why there are so many?

Here are some of them.

  • "The Windy City"
  • "Second City"
  • "Chi-Town"
  • "City by the Lake"
  • "City of Big Shoulders"
  • "Heart of America
  • "Paris on the Prairie"
  • "The Big Onion"
  • "That Toddling Town"
  • "The City that Works"
  • "My Kind of Town"
  • "The White City"

Can you find more?

 

 

      

    Chicago Fun Facts

    Directory

    Home

       A – Z Guide

       Start Here

       Chicago Fun Facts

       Chicago Nicknames

    Attractions

       Famous Chicago Landmarks

    Chicago Today

       Shopping

       Chicago Foods

       Chicago Now & Then

       Things To Do

       Haunted Chicago

    Entertainment

       Kid Friendly

       Theatres

       Chicago Media

       Music

    History

       Disasters

       Chicago’s Rich History

       World’s Fairs

    Museums

       Museum Links

    Neighborhoods

       Architecture

       Chicago’s Ethnic Heritage

       North Chicago Neighborhoods

       Central/West Chicago Neighborhoods

       Sough Chicago Neighborhoods

    People

       Gangsters

       People Who Made Chicago

       Great Chicagoans

    Sports

       Chicago Sports Venues

       Professional Sports Teams

       Chicago Sports History

    Transportation

       Getting Around Chicago

    Universities

       Listing of Universities and Colleges

    Home

       A – Z Guide

       Start Here

       Chicago Fun Facts

       Chicago Nicknames

    Attractions

       Famous Chicago Landmarks

    Chicago Today

       Shopping

       Chicago Foods

       Chicago Now & Then

       Things To Do

       Haunted Chicago

    Entertainment

       Kid Friendly

       Theatres

       Chicago Media

       Music

    History

       Disasters

       Chicago’s Rich History

       World’s Fairs

    Museums

       Museum Links

    Neighborhoods

       Architecture

       Chicago’s Ethnic Heritage

       North Chicago Neighborhoods

       Central/West Chicago Neighborhoods

       Sough Chicago Neighborhoods

    People

       Gangsters

       People Who Made Chicago

       Great Chicagoans

    Sports

       Chicago Sports Venues

       Professional Sports Teams

       Chicago Sports History

       Sports Legends

    Transportation

       Getting Around Chicago

    Universities

       Listing of Universities and Colleges

    Home

       A – Z Guide

       Start Here

       Chicago Fun Facts

       Chicago Nicknames

    Attractions

       Famous Chicago Landmarks

    Chicago Today

       Shopping

       Chicago Foods

       Chicago Now & Then

       Things To Do

       Haunted Chicago

    Entertainment

       Kid Friendly

       Theatres

       Chicago Media

       Music

    History

       Disasters

       Chicago’s Rich History

       World’s Fairs

    Museums

       Museum Links

    Neighborhoods

       Architecture

       Chicago’s Ethnic Heritage

       North Chicago Neighborhoods

       Central/West Chicago Neighborhoods

       Sough Chicago Neighborhoods

    People

       Gangsters

       People Who Made Chicago

       Great Chicagoans

    Sports

       Chicago Sports Venues

       Professional Sports Teams

       Chicago Sports History

    Transportation

       Getting Around Chicago

    Universities

       Listing of Universities and Colleges

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip